Skip to main content
Moravia School District
click for lunch menus click for school tool click for athletics click for twitter click for facebook

Board of Education

The Moravia School Board of Education is comprised of seven members, each serving a three year term.

Left to right: Ms. Leigh Hess, Mr. Shawn Becker, Mrs. Michelle Lyon, Ms. Kärin Dillon, Mrs. Jennifer Bilinski, Mr. Terry Thompson, Mr. Jeffrey Carmichael

Members of the Board of Education are:

  • Mrs. Michelle Lyon, President
  • Mr. Shawn Becker, Vice President
  • Mrs. Jennifer Bilinski
  • Mr. Jeffrey Carmichael
  • Ms. Kärin Dillon
  • Ms. Leigh Hess 
  • Mr. Terry Thompson

Mrs. Anita Burhans, Clerk

Board meetings are generally held on second and fourth Wednesdays of the month at 7 p.m.
The public is welcome to attend.

2018-19 Meeting Schedule:

Monday, July 2
Monday, July 23
Aug. 1 (goal setting session) - 5:30 p.m.
Aug. 22
Sept. 12 & 26
Oct. 10 & 24
Nov. 14
Dec. 12
Jan. 9 & 23
Feb. 13
March 13 & 27
April 10 & 24
May 8 (also Budget Hearing) & 29
June 19

BUDGET VOTE:  Tuesday, May 21

To qualify for membership on the school board, an individual:

  • Must be able to read and write.

  • Must be a qualified voter of the district; that is, a citizen of the United States, at least 18 years of age or older and not adjudged to be  an incompetent.

  • Must be and have been a resident (but need not be a taxpayer) of the district for a continuous and uninterrupted period of at least one year immediately before the election.

  • May not have been removed from any school district office within the preceding year.

  • May not reside with another member of the same school board as a member of the same family.

  • May not be a current employee of the school board.

  • May not simultaneously hold another incompatible public office.

**The Moravia School District cannot attest to the accuracy of information provided by external linked sites. Linking to a website does not constitute an endorsement by the Moravia School District or any of its administration, faculty and staff.