About Mrs. Hewitt

I grew up in Dryden, New York where I lived in the same house for almost 19 years.  I was an all-star swimmer on my high school swim team and still hold a few of the school records there.  I, like many of my students, couldn't wait to get out of my parents house.  I knew that the only way that I would be able to make it on my own was if I went to college. 

So, when I graduated from high school in 1996 I enrolled at Nazareth College of Rochester.  I graduated from Nazareth in 2000 with a Bachelor's of Science Degree.  I majored in Biology and minored in Chemistry and Education which certifies me to teach both subjects.  I loved every minute of college and wish that I had time to study and learn as I did in college for the rest of my life.  I know, unfortunately, that it would not be financially feasible to do that though.  So, instead I am sharing my love of learning with the students in my class room here at Indian River. 

I still have not shared with you how I ended up at Indian River.  I taught for one year at a small school in central New York close to my home town.  I realized that to teach some students in high school at the ripe old age of 22 didn't work for me.  After the 2000-2001 school year was over, I applied to SUNY Potsdam to pursue my Masters degree in Education.  While at Potsdam I applied to schools in the area and most sought the position at Indian River.  I excitedly accepted the position offered and started teaching here in September of 2002.  I earned my masters in May of 2003 by completing my culminating experience (this web site) while teaching at Indian River. 

Recently (January and August of 2006) I married my husband David J. Hewitt.  David is a United States Marine and we are expecting our first child in January. 

I have several pets.  My dog, Gordon (who is a female), is a very hairy Newfoundland and Gordon Setter mix.  She gives me endless enjoyment with her unfortunate clumsiness and stupidity.  I also have a very snotty cat named Ginger.

As for my residence, I now live in Watertown where I enjoy many outdoor activities such as whitewater rafting, snow boarding, sailing, and mountain biking.  Many of you are here from other areas of the country and find it a bit boring, but you have some of the best of nature and history in your back yard.  Enjoy it, I do!